The Heart of Our Community

"For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give His life as a ransom for many."

—Matthew 20:28

Fr. Rod Ermatinger

I spent my first four years as a priest with a religious order working primarily in New York City and Long Island. I came to the Diocese of Helena on November 2, 2009, All Souls’ Day and the anniversary of my mother’s passing from this life to a place far better. My first eleven months were on the Hi-Line, helping with parishes in Shelby, Cut Bank, Valier, and Sunburst. It was a special grace to work alongside Fr Michael Drury and with the wonderful people of those towns and parishes. I arrived at St Matthew’s on October 1, 2010, the feast of St. Therese of Lisieux. In addition to the parish work and ministries, I am also active in our school helping with classes and other activities.

My hobbies include fly fishing, hunting upland birds and waterfowl, as well as big game such as deer and elk. I also enjoy snowshoeing and cross country skiing.

Deacon Charlie Harball

Deacon Charlie Harball, a native of northwest Montana, was raised in Polson, Montana and began serving the Church as an altar server at Immaculate Conception Parish in 1964. He and Claire were married in 1980 and are now proud parents of two grown daughters. He moved with his family to Kalispell in 1991 becoming parishioners at St. Matthew’s Parish. He and Claire have been active in the parish as catechists for the younger children, for confirmation classes and the RCIA program. They have served as Eucharistic ministers and reader as well as serving time on the pastoral council.

Charlie and Claire entered into the Diocese of Helena diaconate formation program in 2007. Charlie was ordained as a Deacon to the diocese on June 29, 2012, and assigned to St. Matthew’s Parish which he now gratefully serves.

Parish Staff

Megan Holt


Kim Maes

Parish Secretary

Giorgio Navarini

Liturgical Music Director

Jeanne O’Connell

Pastoral Assistant

Peggy Schaffer

Bulletin Editor

School Staff

Emmy Hartney


Theresa Surynt

Registrar &
Human Resources

Charlie Sherrill


Pre-K Academy

Andrea Hanson


Sarah Baker